Weird, Yummy Soup!

December 13, 2009

I love Shirataki Noodles.  I had never tasted them before, but my friend Jamie at Ilikegranola.com posted the best looking noodles soup on her blog with these noodles so I just had to try something out myself.  Shirataki noodles are different from regular noodles because instead of being made from wheat flour they are made from a dietary fiber called Glucomann that comes from the roots of the Asian Konjac plant and tofu.

I couldnt decide if  I wanted to substitute the noodles for pasta and have spaghetti, or if I wanted to make some type of asian dish. With no real plan I decided on an asian dish. Shirataki noodles come fully cooked, and packed in water.  The water smells fishy and funny so I drained the water and rinsed the noodles and then set them aside.

To make my weird noodle soup I used

2 zucchini
1 package of Shirataki noodles
1 clove garlic
half a block of tofu
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbs chili paste
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbs vegetable stock powder
1/4 cup water
Olive oil

First sautee the garlic tofu and zucchini in a pan with some olive oil, after the zucchini becomes tender add in the tablespoon of chili sauce.  When the chili paste is fully mixed in, add in the pre rinsed noodles and vegetable stock powder. Stir a few times, then add the water.  Let simmer for about 2 minutes until the noodles are warm.

The final result looks like this, tastes spicy and delicious, and serves two……but I ate the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

