Superbowl Sunday Snackies

February 10, 2010

Hello Long Lost Readers,

Too much has happened in my life over the past few months which has consequently kept me out of the blogging world. Work, work, work, and more work and oh, yes, a move to Portland!  As soon as the move is all done and I’m settled again I’ll make sure to get back on with the blogging and healthy cooking train! 

Right now my refridgerator has been cleared for the move and only contains ketchup and old individual packages of soy sauce that I stole from my parents house with my ex-boyfriend last summer.  So, I really think it goes without saying that I haven’t been cooking that much lately.  I’ve mostly been spending my Whole Paycheck at the Whole Foods salad bar.  However, two weekends ago I did get a bit creative in someone else’ s kitchen and last weekend I got pretty crafty in my family’s kitchen for Superbowl Sunday.  I would like to admit right here right now, that I probably watched 2 minutes of the Superbowl, and then ended up watching about 5 hours of the “To Catch a Predator” Marathon instead.   

If you’ve been reading this blog or know me at all, you already know that I love skiing.  I love the fresh mountain air, I love the rush of adrenaline I get while doing a black diamond, I love the speed, I love the burn in my legs. I love everything about it.  I usually get up to the mountains every weekend and sometimes on Friday or Monday’s if the snow is really falling.  But with my work obligations, my ear surgery (no elevation climbs for a month!), and my move in the works, I’ve only been up the hill a total of three times this season :(. 

After a day of skiing I’m usually so hungry and so depleted that I end up snacking on whatever presents itself in front of me!  Potato chips seem to always be the victim, but bread, cheese, beer, or an occasional jager bomb have been known to slip past my lips.  This season, it has been my goal to really see skiing as any other sport and fuel myself like an athlete before and after I go.  So, after starting on the Doritos wagon on Superbowl Sunday I decided jump right off and use my Sunday, sore legs and post ski day snack craze to fuel a healthy cooking bonanza!

First on the list was  my newly created broccolini, baby bella mushroom pizza with chevre and feta cheese.  The trick to this pizza is to sautee the broccolini in HOT garlic olive oil before you put it on the pizza, then bake the pie with the rest of the raw ingredients per the directions of the crust dough (usually at 450 for 20ish minutes).  Look how beautiful it turned out, and it tasted even better!

I wish I could take credit for the next creation, but I can’t.  I got this amazing black bean brownie recipe while perusing Runnerskitchen.com  The recipe uses black beans in the place of butter, eggs or oil.   I’m always a little bit skeptical of healthy alternatives….I mean sometimes they don’t taste half bad, but they never taste as good as the original, right?  Wrong, these fiber packed, moist brownies were fully of chocolately goodness.  Even my dad liked them!!!

3 Responses to “Superbowl Sunday Snackies”


  1. Hooray! I’m glad you liked the brownie recipe 🙂 And your pizza looks great.

  2. Jamie Walker Says:

    That looks delish – the pizza, the brownies – I hope you saved me some!

  3. eatspinlive Says:

    I defiantly made some of these brownies a few weeks ago and loved them too! The ingredients are a little iffy but they taste so good when they are done 🙂 I am glad you liked them too!!


Leave a Reply

