Inspired Kitchen

July 14, 2011

After my amazing dinner at Le Pigeon on a Friday night, I spent a very inspired Saturday evening in my own kitchen.  For the first course I made seared scallops served on a bed of elephant garlic scapes, bacon, shallots, and a splash of fresh squeezed grapefruit juice.

The scallops were pretty rich so the following two courses were lighter, but still just as delicious. For the next course, I was inspired by the  stuffed tomatoes recipe in Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Everyday cookbook, but used quinoa instead of cous cous. I also  made a few other adjustments to make the recipe work with the ingredients in my kitchen. Ben always thinks that quinoa lacks flavor, so I melted a little bit of gruyere cheese and white cheddar on top.Ben’s cousin operates an organic farm in Massachusetts and she often posts fantastic recipes for farm fresh vegetables on her White Barn Farm website. Inspired by the Honey Butter Kohlrabi recipe found on the site, I decided to finish off the fresh Kohlrabi that I got earlier that morning at the farmer’s market. After two courses of cheese and bacon fat, I was trying to make a healthier version of the dish and substituted the butter with olive oil.  I think that this was a mistake because the lemon really overpowered the dish and it really needed that creamy flavor to balance it out.  It was still delicious, but next time I am going to actually follow the recipe and not improvise!

Happy Eating!

One Response to “Inspired Kitchen”

  1. Ciara Says:

    wow, looks amazing! I’m totally going to steal your tomato quinoa idea 🙂


Leave a Reply

